Week 4 NFL Picks against the spread

Now that’s what I am talking about! After mostly sucking hard the first two weeks I ripped off a 10-6 record in last week’s picks. Time to keep the up the trend with this week’s picks. Hard to believe that after this week’s games we will be 25% done with the regular season, so now is the time to have a feel for what teams are good or not and go from there.

as usual all spreads are from FootballLocks.com

Record through 3 weeks 22-26

Thursday Night

@Washington -3.5 NY Giants- I’m taking the home team here. Washington looked really good last week and blundered at the end of the game but up a great fight against the Eagles. The Giants did get their first win against the Texans but I still have a lot of questions regarding their offense. On top of that these Thursday night games are usually a crapshoot so I’m just going to roll with home field

Sunday
Early Games

Miami -3.5 Oakland(in London)- I’m taking the Dolphins. Don’t like that Raiders are a west coast team traveling to London for a 1:00PM game and also don’t like the Raiders in general. I know Miami sucks but they can beat the Raiders by 4 on a neutral field

Green Bay -1.5 @Chicago- I’m taking the Packers here but I don’t feel great about it. The Packers offense has been very inconsistent the through the first three weeks of the season. I don’t know if that is the team adjusting to it’s new core of offensive weapons or more attributed to the tough defenses they have faced off against so far(Seattle, Jets, Lions). I’m not going to bet against Aaron Rodgers in a must win when the Packers only need to win by a field goal, even if I think the Bears are better

@Houston – 3 Buffalo- I’m taking the Bills. Houston’s weak point on defense is against the run. They are giving up 141 yards per game on the ground. Buffalo’s biggest strength is the ground game with CJ Spiller and Fred Jackson. The Bills are averaging 131 yards per game on the ground. I think the Bills should be able to run all over Houston, just like the Giants did last week and beat them

@Indianapolis -7.5 Tennessee- The Titans aren’t a good team and the Colts have beaten the Titans every time they have played in the Andrew Luck era. The Colts beat the Titans by 8 last year at home and I think they should be able to do it again this week

@Baltimore -3.5 Carolina- If the Panthers lost to the Steelers who lost to the Ravens, shouldn’t the Ravens then beat the Panthers? I think so and Baltimore plays tough at home so I am taking the Ravens and a fired up Steve Smith Sr. in this one

Detroit -1.5 @NY Jets- I’m taking the Lions. The Jets will continue to be the best team in the NFL at stopping the run but the Lions have more than enough weapons in the passing attack to make dispose of them. Also the Lions defense is really good in case you haven’t noticed and should generate some turnovers against the errant Geno Smith

@Pittsburgh -7.5 Tampa Bay- Tampa Bay sucks but I think they cover here after being totally annihilated Thursday night, if Lovie Smith can’t motivate them after a loss like that he will be fired by next year.

4:00 Games
@San Diego -13 Jacksonville- I’m going to keep taking the Jaguars until they cover and then I will be rid of them

@San Francisco -5 Philadelphia- I’m taking the Eagles. I don’t believe in the 49ers at all and they shouldn’t be getting this many points against the Eagles

Atlanta -3 @Minnesota- I’m taking the Vikings. Matt Ryan is a much better player at home than on the road. His career TD/Interception ration at Home is 79-29 and 81-51 on the road. His win/loss record at home is 38-12 and 24-23 on the road. Am I saying take the Falcons at home and not the road? Absolutely I am. Also I’m excited to see Teddy Bridgewater play and think he gets the in in this one

Sunday Night
New Orleans -3 @Dallas- I’m taking the Saints, they should be able to beat Dallas easily here unless there are serious problems with their team, which isn’t out of the question

Monday Night
New England -3.5 @Kansas City- I’m taking New England. This one should be close as Jamaal Charles should return for the Chiefs and New England has been pretty crappy so far this year, but I think New England should take care of business in prime time.

Leave a Reply

