Week 5 NFL picks against the spread

Last week I went 8-5 for a record of 30-31 through the first four weeks of football. I told you I would claw back after a rough start to the season and here I am a game out of .500 and I look to go over that and beyond without looking back. Without further ado here are my picks for this weeks games. I ended up tweeting my pick for Thursday night’s game because I have been behind schedule all week, if you saw the tweet I guessed correctly(albeit my first correct Thursday night pick since week 1).

Sunday early games

@Carolina -2.5 Chicago- I’m taking the Bears, don’t know why the Panthers are favored here after losing their last two games 75-29

@Tennessee -1.5 Cleveland- I’m taking the Browns off their bye week, this game is a toss up so I will just take the underdog

@Philadelphia -6.5 St.Louis- I’m taking the Rams and the points

@NY Giants -4 Atlanta- I’m taking the Giants, don’t take Atlanta on the road

@New Orleans – 10 Tampa Bay- I’m taking the Buccaneers. New Orleans needs to prove it to me first, even if they are at home

@Dallas – 6.5 Houston- I’m taking the Cowboys, the Texans are weak against the run and the Cowboys are running the ball like nobody’s business

@Detroit – 6.5 Buffalo- I’m taking the Lions, I think their defense should be able to make up for an offense decimated by injuries(Calvin Johnson, Joique Bell, Theo Riddick, Joseph Fauria)

@Indianapolis – 3.5 Baltimore- I’m taking the Ravens, I’m going to ride the Baltimore hot streak(Ravens are 3-0 since week 1 and the Orioles just won 2 quick games in the ALDS)

Pittsburgh -6 @Jacksonville- I’m taking the Steelers, this line feels a little low to me so as I much as I want to keep losing by picking the Jaguars to cover someday I won’t be picking them this week

Afternoon Games

@Denver – 7.5 Arizona- I’m taking the Broncos if Stanton starts and the Cardinals to cover if Palmer starts

@San Diego – 6.5 NY Jets- I’m taking the Chargers to shut the door on the Jets season.

@San Francisco – 5.5 Kansas City- I’m taking the Chiefs. The 49ers couldn’t beat the Eagles by 6 points last week and I think the Chiefs looked really good with a healthy Jamaal Charles last week and I expect that offensive success to continue

Sunday Night

Cincinnati -1 @ New England- I’m taking the rested Bengals to deal the Patriots their second straight loss in prime time

Monday Night

Seattle -7 @ Washington- I’m taking the Seahawks, Washington was ravaged by the Giants last week in prime time at home and I don’t think they will fare any better against a rested Seahawks team

Leave a Reply

