Week 8 Picks Against the Spread

After having a wreck of a week last week and finishing 5-10 I am now 53-52 on the season. I got too cute too many times last week and not going to fall for those tricks this week as I look to gain back the ground I lost

Thursday Night

@Denver -7.5 San Diego- I’m taking the Broncos and will always take Peyton Manning in prime time

Sunday Morning

Detroit -3.5 Atlanta (In London)- I’m taking the Lions. Their defense is among the best(if not the best) in the league and they are taking on an underwhelming Falcons team that has lost 4 straight games, and are away from the Georgia Dome(the only place they have looked COMPETENT all year). I think the Lions run all over Atlanta and start Sunday with a win.

Sunday Early Games(traditionally)

@Tampa Bay -3 Minnesota – I’m taking the Vikings here. I think Jerick McKinnon and even Cordarrelle Patterson have big games against a suspect Tampa Bay defense and get the win.

@New England -6 Chicago- I’m taking the Bears. They are 3-1 on the road and I think they play the Patriots tough this week after all the locker room tension following their big loss to Miami.

@Kansas City -7 St.Louis- I’m taking the Rams and the points. The Rams offense has looked decent at times during the last two weeks and I am dubious that Kansas City can have the ball for 39 minutes again this week.

Seattle -5 @Carolina- I’m taking Carolina and the points. I think this line is too high and Seattle shouldn’t be getting these kinds of lines anymore after what they have showed us this season.

@NY Jets -3 Buffalo- I’m taking the Bills. In a weird way it’s not terrible that the Bills lost both their running backs for this game(outside of pass protection). You beat the Jets by passing and I think Kyle Orton can and will against the Jets secondary

Miami -6 @Jacksonville- I’m taking the Dolphins. They should be able to beat the Jaguars by a TD, although I said this about the Browns last week…

Houston -2 @Tennessee- I’m taking J.J Watt and the pissed off Texans(gave up 20+ points in the final 3 minutes of the first half Monday night in a game they mostly controlled) against Zach Metternberger in his first start.

@Cincinnati -1 Baltimore- I’m taking the Ravens if AJ Green sits and the Bengals if he plays

Sunday Afternoon

@Arizona -2.5 Philadelphia- I’m taking the Eagles off the bye. If the Eagles defense can play half as well as they did against the Giants then they should have a good chance of winning this game. I thought all those injuries would catch up to Arizona last week, and I was wrong. I think the injuries catch up to the Cardinals this week against the Eagles

Indianapolis -3 @Pittsburgh- I’m taking the Colts. I don’t think Pittsburgh is in the top echelon of teams that can slow the Colts down and beat them. Indy rolls to their 6th consecutive win in this one.

@Cleveland -7 Oakland- I’m taking the Raiders. The Alex Mack injury might be a serious problem for the Browns. They couldn’t run the ball at all against a suspect Jaguars defense. The Browns want to be a run heavy team that thrives off the play action, without that I don’t trust Brian Hoyer to air it out to win games with such limited weapons.

Sunday Night

@New Orleans -1.5 Green Bay- This line is insane and plain disrespectful. The Packers are going to roll the Saints and I can’t believe I get to take them with any points

Monday Night

@Dallas -9.5 Washington- I’m taking Washington to cover. Washington actually has a good run defense, giving up just 3.8 yards per carry. I think Dallas should beat them but if DeMarco Murray isn’t awesome it might be a close game

Leave a Reply

