Fantasy Football Use ‘Em Lose ‘Em for Week 8

Use ‘Em

QB

Carson Palmer- All he has done since coming back from injury is throw for 250 yards and 2 TD’s in both of his games, very respectable. If he threw for that against the Eagles that would be the average game they have let opposing QB’s have on them (giving up 254 yards per game and 13 TD’s in 6 games). I think Palmer finds a groove and does better than that this week.

Russell Wilson- He is a legit top 5 fantasy QB and needs to be treated accordingly. With a cushy match-up against Carolina, who has given up 15 passing TD’s this season and is 11th worst against the pass. I’m playing Wilson this week over everyone not named Manning or Rodgers

Ryan Tannehill- He has played really well in his last 3 games. He also has a really good match-up this week against the Jaguars(giving up the 3rd most passing yards a game and an average QB rating of 100) and the most passing plays of 20+ yards in the NFL, and more importantly it’s on the road. Tannehill’s QB rating jumps by 20 points on the road then from when he is playing at home(97.9 on road and 77.0 at home) and his completion percentage jumps a whopping 15%(55.7% at home and 70.5% on the road)! I think he is a great play this week and he finishes out my top 10 for the week.

Tony Romo- Love the match-up against Washington for two reasons. 1. They have a horrendous secondary and have given up 15 passing TD’s and an average QB rating of 103.6! 2. I think DeMarco Murray get’s slowed down for whatever reason this game and Romo has to throw a little more and the extra attempts should benefit him. I have Romo as a top 5 play this week

RB

Darren McFadden- He has been a decent flex play since grabbing the starting job from MJD. I think he cracks the top 20 this week with a great match-up against the Browns who are giving up a 5.0 yards per carry average and the most rushing yards per game in the NFL(155.5). It’s a big gut call but I think McFadden comes through this week.

Marshawn Lynch- He hasn’t been great these past two weeks but the bounce back game comes this week against the Panthers. The Panthers are giving up the 8th most rushing yards in the NFL to a tune of 5.3 yards per carry and 8 rushing touchdowns. I think we see a classic Beast Mode game here

Joique Bell- Atlanta is an Eden for running backs this year. They have given up an astounding 13 TD’s to opposing running backs so far and given up the 6th most rushing yards in the NFL. Bell has scored in back-to-back games and I think he makes it a Hat Trick while in London Sunday morning.

Ben Tate- He was awful last week against a good match-up in Jacksonville and left owners feeling spurned. BUT if you recall he did the same thing last year and then had a massive game the next week against the Patriots. His bad game against the Jaguars was way worse last year(27 total yards and just 1 rushing yard) and then he had the best game of his career against New England with 22 carries for 102 yards and 3 TD’s. I’m calling for Tate to have a monster bounce back game again against the Raiders who are 4th worst in the NFL against the run and giving up 145 yards a game on the ground.

WR

Michael Floyd- I think he is the main beneficiary of the big Carson Palmer game, and also the safest Cardinals receiver. Two straight games of 40ish yards and a TD since Carson Palmer has returned, but I think he gets more than that against a bad Eagles secondary.

T.Y Hilton- Reggie Wayne has been ruled out for Sunday, so that means even more work for the target hording T.Y Hilton. Hilton has only had one game this season with less than 9 targets and has had at least 5 catches in every game this year. He has had only 1 TD thus far in the season and I think he adds more this Sunday against the Steelers on top of his gaudy receiving totals.

Sammy Watkins- The Jets have given up 18 passing TD’s this season. I’m starting the #1 receiver on any team facing them this season, especially a red-hot target monster like Sammy Watkins coming off his 9 catch 122 yard 2 TD slaying of my Vikings.

Mike Wallace- Mike Wallace quickly became the guy I didn’t own anywhere in fantasy who I wish I owned somewhere. He has scored a TD in every game except 1 and has at least 5 catches in every game except 1 as well. However he hasn’t had that monster yardage game yet and I think it happens this week against the Jaguars.

Terrance Williams- I think he scores again against Washington. I keep doubting but sooner or later I have to believe the results that Terrance Williams keeps putting up. Williams has scored a TD or had at least 70 yards receiving in every game since Week 2, and that streak continues here.

TE

Jordan Reed- The target monster is back! 17 targets and 146 yards on 13 catches in his first two games and he gets a good match-up against the Cowboys, who give up the 2nd most fantasy points in the NFL to tight ends.

Zach Ertz- If I like “The Ertz” that means I think he reels in a touchdown that week and I definitely think he scores this week. The Cardinals have given up the 7th most fantasy points in the NFL to tight ends, after giving up the most fantasy points to tight ends last year.

Owen Daniels- He has hit a stride in the last few weeks. Baltimore targeted their Tight Ends(Dennis Pitta was healthy in Week 1 against the Bengals, I mean it was Week 1) a massive 20 times!! It resulted in 14 catches for 117 yards. If Daniels can get close to those number by himself his owners will be very happy

D/ST

Dolphins- I trust the Dolphins on the road, and their defense has given up just 14 points in their last two road games.

Bills- I like the Bills to force the Jets into making mistakes and generating turnovers, as the Jets are known to do with Geno Smith as their QB

Lose ‘Em

QB

Matt Ryan- He’s been significantly worse away from home, sporting 6 TD’s to 6 interceptions with a 76.2 QB rating. Top that off with a Lions defense that ranks 1st in the NFL in total yards and 5th in sacks against a putrid offensive line and I am not using Ryan this week.

Jay Cutler- Cutler always shrinks from the big moment(look at all the times the Packers have beaten him, or the Chargers when he was in Denver). He has been up and down in real life but was consistent in fantasy, until last week when he stunk it up against the Dolphins. I don’t trust Cutler to come through against New England in New England, despite having played better on the road than at home this year.

Andy Dalton- I hate, hate, hate Dalton without AJ Green. His owners saw that come full circle last week against the Colts. I think AJ Green plays this week but even so Dalton hasn’t played well against the Ravens. Andy Dalton has an all time TD/Interception ratio of 7:11 against the Ravens. That sucks. The Ravens can be had in the air but I just don’t trust Andy Dalton this week.

RB

Giovanni Bernard- I’m not one of those people who is panicking on Giovanni, I simply think it’s a tough match-up against the Ravens. The Ravens are a top 10 run defense(giving up 87 yards per game and a 3.7 per carry average). Giovanni didn’t have a bad game against the Ravens the first time out(20 touches for 100 total yards), but I don’t trust the Bengals until AJ Green comes back and stabilizes the offense.

Doug Martin- I’ll believe it when I see it. He has been truly a fantasy turd thus far in the season. He hasn’t had 20 touches or 80 totals yards once this season and has looked like the far inferior running back to Bobby Rainey(Rainey took the TD from him in week 5 as well).

Tre Mason- I am not jumping the gun on him after one game of a full workload. Wrong or not I don’t trust the Rams backfield and Benny Cunningham has been more involved than people realize and Mason won’t be used if the Rams are down by a bunch and launching an epic Austin Davis led comeback.

Buffalo RB’s- I don’t particularly like either guy(Anthony Dixon and Bryce Brown). I also think the Jets get back to stopping the run this week. I think the Bills shred the Jets through the air, not through the ground.

WR

 

Brandon Marshall- He has only two games with more than 50 yards receiving and has surprisingly become touchdown dependent. The fact that he faces off against Darelle Revis doesn’t help him. Marshall needs to start putting together big games or else you should look around for a real #1 receiver for your team.

Steve Smith Sr.-He has fallen back to earth after having his huge revenge game against the Panthers. Torrey Smith has gotten more involved in the passing game and Owen Daniels is starting to come on. Smith had a big game against the Bengals in week 1 ONLY because of a totally blown coverage that resulted in a 80 yard touchdown pass. Take that away and he had 6 catches for 38 yards that game. I think his stat line is closer to that this time around.

Kendall Wright- Don’t like him with rookie Zach Mettenberger at the helm of the offense. He has been really inconsistent anyway this year. He has an egg in between the best two games of his season. Hard to trust Wright and the rest of the Titans this week.

Larry Fitzgerald- He feel like more of a roulette play than anyone who I can actually make sense of. He has squandered two plus match-ups in the last 3 weeks against Denver and Oakland. I don’t know if he pulls off a good game against a bad Eagles secondary but I don’t trust him at all.

Roddy White, Julio Jones- Read above for Matt Ryan. I don’t like the Falcons against a brutal Lions defense this week.

TE

Martellus Bennett- I guess September is over huh? 11 catches for 127 yards on 21 targets in his 3 games since September ended.

Jordan Cameron- He burned me so hard last week and I just can’t trust a guy who hasn’t had more than 3 catches in a game. The Browns want to run the ball all the time and Cameron hasn’t been the go-to-guy like people thought he would be with Gordon suspended.

D/ST

Seahawks, Panthers- I think this game is a shootout between the two highest ranked pre-draft defenses, both of whom have disappointed their owners greatly.

Cardinals- I think the Eagles put some major points on the Cardinals this week, better match-ups are coming later for them.

Leave a Reply

